Sunday, May 31, 2009

Cinnamon Teal

Male. South of Powell. May 31, 2009.

Friday, May 29, 2009

White-tailed Jackrabbits

East of Powell. May, 2009.

In Wyoming, the jackrabbit is classified as a "predatory animal," along with porcupines, coyotes, wolves, red foxes, raccoons, and skunks.

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Sunday, May 24, 2009

Memorial Day

Arthur, Nebraska, pop. 145. 2007.

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Magpie harassing an owl

East of Powell. May, 2009.

Magpies are members of the corvid family, which includes crows and jays. They are particularly prone to attacking or harassing owls. Often they do this in groups, and the behavior is known as "mobbing." It is more common when magpies and crows are nesting. Owls feed on smaller birds, and one speculation is that mobbing is a way corvids use to teaching their young about the dangers of owls.

Sunday, May 17, 2009

Canada Geese and goslings

North of Powell. May, 2009.

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Great Horned Owl

East of Powell. May, 2009.

Monday, May 11, 2009

Western Meadowlark

North of Powell. May, 2009.

Saturday, May 9, 2009


North of Powell. May, 2009.

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Saturday, May 2, 2009

Golden Eagle

Polecat Bench. May, 2009.